New Delhi, August 29, 2014: The School hosted the third Dr. Stya Paul Memorial Mathematics Quest on August 28 and 29, 2014. The first day of the event witnessed an over-zealous participation by 18 reputed schools from Delhi and the NCR region. The programme commenced with the lighting of the lamp followed by Ganesh Vandana to invoke the deity’s blessings. It was followed by the welcome address by Mrs. Anita Paul, the School Prinicpal. Abhay Sharma, a student of Class XI, gave a presentation on Indian Mathematicians and Field Awards in Mathematics which was inspiring and noteworthy. The Chief Guest for the day, Dr. A.K. Wazalwar, Head, Department of Education, Science and Mathematics, NCERT, motivated the students to combat their fear for the subject and pursue research in the field of Mathematics.

The five innovative competitions namely Fastest Fingers First, Mathematics Quiz, Mathematics Extempore, Model-making and Sudoku received an enthusiastic response from the participating schools wherein students from classes II to XII took an active part and demonstrated their mathematical skills. A team of erudite judges judged the competition. Prizes and certificates were distributed to the participating schools. The rolling trophy for the event went to Apeejay School, Noida.

On the second day of the event, the school initiated a unique platform for the teachers to present their papers on the innovative teaching-learning practices in Mathematics. Fifteen teachers from eleven schools of Delhi and NCR participated in the event. The paper presentations were judged by two eminent mathematicians, Dr. Hukum Singh, Former Professor & Dean, Academics, NCERT and Dr. Anop Rajput, Professor & Head, Elementary Education in Mathematics, NCERT. Ms. Geeta Kumar, TGT, Mathematics from Apeejay School, Noida and Ms. Zenia Dutta, PGT, Mathematics from Apeejay School, Saket were credited with the best paper presentations.

img1img2 img3