Do not go where the path may lead, go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.    - Ralph Waldo Emerson

The well thought out preparations for Apeejay School, Pitampura’s first virtual Model United Nations (MUN) began in December 2020 where the Organising Committee of the event, under the guidance of their teacher, conducted regular Zoom sessions to make the students aware of diplomatic conferences like these and encourage them to participate in the same. After a plethora of fruitful discussions, UNGA DISEC (discussing the role of science and technology in ensuring international peace and security), AIPPM (discussing the population control bill 2019), and IP (consisting only photography) were the three committees finalised for the MUN. After collecting surveys via google forms, the students were divided into teams as per the committees they had opted for.

Before the meet, the delegates along with their respective executive board members had meetups on Zoom. These sessions aimed at making the delegates aware of the procedural construct of their respective committees. Through the course of these sessions, the delegates were given the much-required exposure to the agendas assigned to their respective committees and helped them pick and brainstorm the various subtopics that could be covered under the umbrella topic.

The spectacular opening ceremony for KAIZEN MUN on 3rd Feb 2021 kicked off with a warm welcome to everyone and Principal, Mrs Veena Goel lighting the ceremonial lamp, backed with Ira Gupta’s graceful Ganesh Vandana performance and a brief presentation on UNGA DISEC and AIPPM. The Secretary-General addressed the gathering. The Principal further wished the delegates all the best and declared the meet open. The delegates were dispersed in their respective meeting rooms.

As for UNGA DISEC, the committee was successful with seven draft resolutions initially but later merging into two. Both the resolutions were in order and passed by the committee in the voting bloc. The delegates were well behaved in the formal sessions and participated actively with competitiveness. The research done by the delegates was in-depth which could be seen in the draft resolutions. Most of the delegates had high verbatim which was quite amusing since a lot of the delegates were participating for the first time. The winners for this committee were - Best Delegate was Ira Gupta (Australia), High Commendation was given to Amaya Sood (Republic of Korea), Special Mention was given to Ishani Monga (India) and Vasu Gupta (USA).

The AIPPM Committee as the real ones was characterised by heated debates and cross-questioning among the delegates. Though the delegates were all first-timers, they succeeded in giving different perspectives in the Committee by which the agenda could be contemplated. Their research work was well portrayed by the concrete points they put forward as per their stance on the agenda. In the initial session, they presented their introduction speeches and in the moderated caucus - they raised motions enthusiastically and kept the discussion and deliberation going raising its standard eventually. In the closing ceremony, the winners were announced, the Best Delegate was Manasshvi Srivastava (Amit Shah), High Commendation was given to Jahnvi Bansal (Asadudddin Owaisi) and Vaibhav Sibgh (Yogi Adityanath), Special Mention was given to Avishi Vats (Arvind Kejriwal) and Verbal Recognition was given to Dhruva Gupta (Nitish Kumar).

In the IP Committee, the students contested in three rounds where they were given different themes and asked to click relevant pictures for the same. The task for round 1 was to click 5 photos of any 2 genres of photography, the task for round 2 was to click 4 photos on product photography and the task for the final round was to click 3 photos using the long exposure method and create light paintings. The delegates ensured to submit the photographs in the stipulated time and also exhibit their talent for photography. The best photographer position was held by Devansh Chawla and high commendation was given to Anukriti Jain.

The enriching Apeejay School, Pitampura’s first-ever intra-school virtual MUN, ‘KAIZEN MUN’ came to a contending end with the closing ceremony on 4th February 2021 and the Principal declaring the meet closed.

Tell me and I forget. Teach me and I remember. Involve me and I learn.    - Benjamin Franklin