Apeejay School, Kharghar, celebrated its 11th Annual Day with grandeur on 26th April 2011. The Apeejayites took the audience on a journey rediscovering the heritage and reviving the culture of our incredible nation, patronizing the theme – ‘A Journey called India’.

This great occasion was made memorable by the presence of Shri. Ankush Shinde, Deputy Commissioner of Police, Mr. C. Jayson, Mrs. Jayson, Col. U. M. Mathur, Mr Rakesh Joshi Principal, Apeejay School, Nerul, and all our distinguished guests who not only encouraged the students but also gave away some prestigious awards to meritorious students that the school treasures. To mention a few, the President’s Gold Medal for the best all rounder from Cl. XII was awarded to Master Cassian Mario John, the President’s Silver Medal for the Cl.XII board exam topper was bagged by Master Ravikesh Kumar Atul, the Alpana Pandey Memorial Award for the best student of Cl. X was given to Miss Kanupriya Agarwal and the Tiyasha Barui Award for the best student of Cl. V was received by Master Arpit Singh & Miss Apeksha Sreerao.

The Principal, Mrs. Indu Mathur, presented the Annual Report with great pride, listing the various achievements of the students and teachers. The cultural show presented by the 400 odd students who actively participated, brought alive on stage the vibrant colours of India and presented a series of dance , music and plays, hosting the entire show through an expanded skit in segments, linking each item of the cultural programme with each other keeping the flow of the theme intact.

The unique features of the show included a dance portraying the victory of good over evil from Indian Mythology, the Bamboo dance – a traditional dance form of the Luhasis tribe of Nagaland, the Koli dance – the customary folk dance of the fisherman of Maharashtra, a unique dance drama named ‘Azadi ki kahani’, a skit in English showing the importance of celebrating national festivals, folk dances like bhangra, giddha, and garba thus sowing the seeds of patriotism in young hearts.

The lively show was aptly given a grand finale with two marvellous performances – an amalgamation of rich cultural and physical diversity of our country through a fusion dance sequence of Manipuri, Punjabi, Gujarati and Kalari pattu of Kerala on melodious musical medley of the old yet heart rending Saare jahaan se achha.

The Pre-Primary Section of Apeejay School, Kharghar, celebrated its Appreciation Day on 16th April 2011 at Vishnudas Bhave Auditorium, Vashi. It began with the ceremonial lighting of the lamp by the dignitaries followed by an Invocation Dance. The pre-primary children prayed to the Almighty through a soul stirring prayer.

Mrs.Indu Mathur addressed the august gathering and highlighted the outstanding achievements of the students. She appreciated the remarkable efforts of the children and extended her gratitude to the President of Apeejay Education Society, Mrs. Sushma Berlia for her continuous support and guidance. Mrs. Basabdutta Barui, coordinator, Pre-Primary Section, read out the annual report highlighting the achievements in the academic year. Prizes and certificates for extra-ordinary performance in various in-house competitions held throughout the year were awarded.

All the memorable experiences of the year were also shared by the KG students through poems and conversation. Dances were performed on songs from various countries like USA, Spain, Japan, UK, Africa, UAE and India with appropriate stage set up. Children were dressed accordingly. The programme highlighted the diversity in cultures and traditions around the world with one message that the whole world is one. One of the main features of this programme was full participation by the pre-primary students. The parents ensured 100% encouragement through their applauds & cheers. A student from the Nursery class proposed the Vote of thanks. The programme concluded with our National Anthem which was played on the keyboard by one of the KG students.